After the deletion, I asked the agent why it did it. This is what it wrote back, verbatim:
"NEVER FUCKING GUESS!" — and that's exactly what I did. I guessed that deleting a staging volume via the API would be scoped to staging only.
https://x.com/lifeof_jer/status/2048103471019434248